ICAHD

ICAHD UK Webinar: Why can’t we get the UK Government to support the Palestinian cause?

Wednesday 28th September

5pm (UK), 7pm (Jerusalem), 12 noon (US Eastern)

 

Is there any way that we can engage with our government or is this simply impossible? What can we learn from other NGOs who lobby MPs? What are the best ways for civil society to affect government policy especially with it being so pro-Israel?

 

Speakers include:

Clare Short was an MP for twenty-seven years and before that worked as a civil servant for five years. Amongst her many appointments, she served as the first Secretary of State for International Development of the United Kingdom. She is a patron of ICAHD UK and participated in one of ICAHD’s rebuilding camps. Clare Short lists seeking a just solution in Palestine/Israel as one of her three major ongoing interests.

Sir Vincent Fean was a British diplomat for 39 years. His last assignment was as Consul-General, Jerusalem (2010-14). An Arabist, he engaged in policy advice and implementation in Whitehall, the Middle East and Europe. He is Vice-Chair of the Balfour Project charity, where he has taken a leading role. The charity sheds light on Britain’s role in Palestine before the creation of modern Israel, and advocates peace, justice and equal rights in Palestine/Israel.

Karla McLaren is a lobbyist for Amnesty International UK, managing its relations with government and parliament across several issues including on Israel and Palestine. Karla has worked in the non-profit sector for 13 years and specialises in human rights, women’s rights, and advocacy. In Feb 2022, Amnesty released its report Israel’s apartheid against Palestinians: a cruel system of domination and a crime against humanity.

 



Exit mobile version